Stuart Wood School

Stuart Wood School is a heritage-listed former elementary school at 245 St. Paul Street in downtown Kamloops. The three-storey red-brick building was constructed in 1906–07 and opened in 1907 as Kamloops Public School. Its symmetrical Classical Revival design includes a columned entrance, arched windows, a broad hipped roof, and substantial original interior features. The building was renamed in 1922 in honour of educator Edward Stuart Wood, who taught in Kamloops from 1886 to 1910.

The school operated continuously for more than a century before closing permanently at the end of the 2015–16 school year, when its students and staff moved to the Beattie Elementary site. The property remains an important local heritage resource, with an open schoolyard, mature perimeter plantings, and associated playing-field areas. In 2026, the building and grounds continue to support community uses, including a temporary overnight shelter and playground opportunities for children in daycare.

Address
245 St Paul St, Kamloops, BC V2C 2J2, Canada